New President for Ceylon Hotel School Graduate Association

Mr. Eksath Wijeratne (FCHSGA), General Manager of Eden Resort & Spa of LOLC Leisure Ltd fame, was appointed as the President of Ceylon Hotel School Graduate Association (CHSGA) at its annual AGM held at the Cinnamon Bey, Beruwela recently. He has over 21 years of illustrious experience in Sri Lanka’s tourism and leisure sector and he has previously served as Vice president of CHSGA for 3 years. He was preceded by the outgoing President for year 2012, Mr. B. H. R. Sariffodeen (FCHSGA), Asst. Vice President (Operations) Aitken Spence Hotel Management.

An official ceremony alongside the AGM was held at which Mr. Mahinda Rathnayake, a founder member and past President of CHSGA presided as Chief Guest, whilst Mr. Jayanthissa Kehelpannala, President of Tourist Hotel Association of Sri Lanka participated as Guest of Honor.

Incorporated by the Parliament Act No. 21 of 1984, CHSGA’s objective is to serve the hotel industry by way of rendering assistance to Sri Lanka Institute of Tourism & Hotel Management. The association also acts as the driving force that facilitates inter-linkages between the Ceylon Hotel School and the leisure industry. This year’s AGM was the 42nd session held since the Association’s formation in 1972.

The main functions of CHSGA is focused at increasing a sense of fellowship among graduates of the Ceylon Hotel School, rendering assistance for the benefit of Sri Lanka Institute of Tourism & Hotel Management, assisting in the development of the tourism sector and rendering assistance to the welfare of Ceylon Hotel School of Graduates.